Toro Rosso 2020 name change confirmed by FIA

Toro Rosso‘s name change to Scuderia Alpha Tauri has been confirmed by the FIA.

A provisional entry list for Formula 1 was published by the governing body on Saturday.

The list says the team’s drivers are to be confirmed, although Red Bull has confirmed that Daniil Kvyat and Pierre Gasly will remain in the rebranded sister team.

Max Verstappen will be partnered by Alexander Albon in the senior Red Bull line-up, as he has been since the summer break, when Gasly was demoted amid a poor start to the campaign.

The Toro Rosso name will depart the grid after 13 seasons in F1, although the Alpha Tauri branding will not alter the team’s honour list in F1.

Alpha Tauri is a Red Bull-affiliated clothing brand.