Verstappen nominated for FIA Action of the Year award

The Red Bull driver’s overtake will join eight similarly entertaining moments from other FIA-sanctioned racing series on the Action of the Year shortlist, with fans invited to vote for their favourite.

The winner will be announced at the FIA’s annual Prize Giving Gala in Vienna in December.  

Verstappen is aiming for an unprecedented third victory in a row in the category, having scooped the same award last year for his daring move around the outside of Sauber’s Felipe Nasr at Spa-Francorchamps’ fearsome Blanchimont corner during the 2015 Belgian Grand Prix.  The year before he won it for a spectacular last-lap pass of current GP2 championship leader Antonio Giovinazzi in a European F3 race at Imola.

Verstappen also took home the Personality of the Year and Rookie of the Year prizes at the 2015 ceremony – the first time anyone had claimed more than one of the non-championship related awards in the same season.

WATCH: Verstappen passes Rosberg for second place in Brazil