Hamilton is RaceFans readers’ 2018 F1 Driver of the Year | 2018 F1 season review

Lewis Hamilton has been voted Formula 1 Driver of the Year by RaceFans readers for the second year in a row.

The Mercedes driver, who won his fifth world championship this year, was overwhelmingly chosen as the outstanding driver of the season. The only others to receive significant numbers of votes were Max Verstappen, Charles Leclerc and Fernando Alonso.

Hamilton’s success was also reflected in out race-by-race Driver of the Weekend polls. He was voted top driver seven times, leading Verstappen (four), Sebastian Vettel (three), Daniel Ricciardo and Pierre Gasly (two each).

Eight different drivers won the Driver of the Year poll during 2018. The one-time winners were Leclerc for his sixth place in Azerbaijan, Kevin Magnussen for his Australian GP performance when he was on course for fourth before retiring, and Kimi Raikkonen for his first win in over five years at Austin.

Go ad-free for just £1 per month

>> Find out more and sign up

RaceFans F1 Driver of the Year poll winners since 2010

2017: Lewis Hamilton
2016: Daniel Ricciardo
2015: Sebastian Vettel
2014: Daniel Ricciardo
2013: Sebastian Vettel
2012: Fernando Alonso
2011: Sebastian Vettel
2010: Lewis Hamilton

2018 F1 Driver of the Weekend winners

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2017 F1 season review

Browse all 2017 F1 season review articles