Pirelli announces tyre selections for first three races of 2019 | 2019 F1 season

Pirelli has confirmed its tyre compound selections for the first three races of the 2019 F1 season.

Compounds two, three and four have been selected for the opening round of the championship in Australia on March 25th, as well as the Chinese Grand Prix on April 15th. A harder tyre mix has been chosen for the Bahrain Grand Prix on April 8th, where compounds one, two and three have been chosen.

Pirelli has dropped its previous tyre names and instead uses numbers to describe its different compounds. Compound one is the hardest tyre in its range.

The sport’s official tyre supplier has reduced its tyre range from seven compounds to five. Compound five, the softest tyre available, has not been nominated for any of the first three races.

The three tyres will be referred to as hard, medium and soft at each race. They will be coloured white, yellow and red respectively.

2019 tyres 2018 tyres
Melbourne C2 C3 C4 Soft Super-soft Ultra-soft
Bahrain C1 C2 C3 Medium Soft Super-soft
Shanghai C2 C3 C4 Medium Soft Ultra-soft
Baku Soft Super-soft Ultra-soft
Catalunya Medium Soft Super-soft
Monte-Carlo Super-soft Ultra-soft Hyper-soft
Montreal Super-soft Ultra-soft Hyper-soft
Paul Ricard Soft Super-soft Ultra-soft
Red Bull Ring Soft Super-soft Ultra-soft
Silverstone Hard Medium Soft
Hockenheimring Medium Soft Ultra-soft
Hungaroring Medium Soft Ultra-soft
Spa-Francorchamps Medium Soft Super-soft
Monza Medium Soft Super-soft
Singapore Soft Ultra-soft Hyper-soft
Sochi Super-soft Ultra-soft Hyper-soft
Suzuka Medium Soft Super-soft
Circuit of the Americas Soft Super-soft Ultra-soft
Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez Super-soft Ultra-soft Hyper-soft
Interlagos Medium Soft Super-soft
Yas Marina Super-soft Ultra-soft Hyper-soft

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

2019 F1 season

Browse all 2019 F1 season articles