W Series names 55 eligible drivers as it aims to address “massive gender imbalance” | Other motorsport

W Series, the new championship targeted exclusively at female racing drivers, has confirmed an initial list of 55 drivers it says are eligible for its first season of racing.

The series received over 100 applications for the 18 places in the championship. The 55 chosen drivers will under three days of testing including assessments of their driver and fitness. Former F1 drivers David Coulthard and Alexander Wurz and former McLaren racing director Dave Ryan are among those who will be involved in the judging process.

W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir said they are “thrilled but perhaps not surprised by the response.

“Even today there is a massive gender imbalance in motorsport and W Series is making the first step to correct that. Drivers from all over the world have stepped forward, so it’s clear that with the right framework we can make the changes this sport desperately needs.”

The list features drivers from 26 different countries. W Series will race at six European tracks next year but has attracted the most eligible entries from America, which has eight names on the list. The organisers plan to expand into Asia, America and Australia in future seasons.

W Series approved driver list

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Advert | Become a RaceFans supporter and go ad-free

Name Country Age
Ayla Agren Norway 25
Amna Al Qubaisi UAE 18
Chelsea Angelo Australia 22
Carmen Boix Spain 23
Sarah Bovy Belgium 29
Toni Breidinger USA 19
Ivana Cetinich South Africa 22
Jamie Chadwick UK 20
Veronika Cicha Czech Republic 31
Sabre Cook USA 24
Courtney Crone USA 17
Natalie Decker USA 21
Mira Erda India 18
Carlotta Fedeli Italy 26
Cassie Gannis USA 27
Marta Garcia Spain 18
Michelle Gatting Denmark 24
Angelique Germann Germany 27
Megan Gilkes Canada 17
Samin Gomez Venezuela 26
Grace Gui China 27
Michelle Halder Germany 19
Esmee Hawkey UK 20
Jessica Hawkins UK 23
Shea Holbrook USA 28
Carmen Jorda Spain 30
Vivien Keszthelyi Hungary 17
Emma Kimilainen Finland 29
Natalia Kowalska Poland 28
Stephane Kox Netherland 24
Miki Koyama Japan 21
Fabienne Lanz South Africa 32
Milla Mäkelä Finland 25
Alexandra Marinescu Romania 18
Milou Mets Netherlands 28
Sheena Monk USA 29
Sarah Moore UK 25
Marylin Niederhauser Germany 22
Tasmin Pepper South Africa 28
Vicky Piria Italy 24
Taegen Poles Canada 20
Alice Powell UK 25
Charlotte Poynting Australia 20
Naomi Schiff Belgium 24
Carrie Schriener Germany 20
Sharon Scolari Switzerland 23
Doreen Seidel Germany 33
Siti Shahkirah Malaysia 24
Sneha Sharma India 28
Bruna Tomasell Brazil 21
Shirley Van Der Lof Netherlands 31
Beitske Visser Netherlands 23
Fabienne Wohlwend Lichenstein 21
Caitlin Wood Australia 21
Hanna Zellers USA 21