FIA confirms change to power unit penalties for 2018 | 2018 F1 season

The FIA has changed how Formula One’s power unit grid penalties will be imposed during the 2018 F1 season.

As of next year the maximum number of places a driver will be moved back on the grid is 15. If a driver incurs a greater number of penalty places than this they will be sent to the back of the starting grid.

In practice the change is unlikely to make a significant difference. As power unit penalties are applied in increments of five grid places the smallest grid penalty a driver can receive which is larger than 15 places is 20 grid spots, which is already the total number of places on the entire grid. However it will change how the grid is formed when multiple drivers incur more than 15 penalty places.

“If a driver incurs a penalty exceeding 15 grid places he will be required to start the race from the back of the starting grid,” confirmed the FIA in a statement. “If more than one driver receives such a penalty they will be arranged at the back of the grid in the order in which the offences were committed.”

Other changes to the sporting and technical regulations for 2018 were also announced.

This article will be updated.

2018 F1 season

Browse all 2018 F1 season articles